Career Change.?!#$

Today, I wanna write about how and what I really feel. I’m 32 years old and a PLHIV for more than 2 years now. My life has changed a lot since I become a poz, you could say that i’ve become more health conscious and I have obtained peace of mind to some extent, have I? LOL

I guess it’s already a fact that there will be gaps in my career because of the times that I had to quit my job due to my illness. This is something that I wanted to avoid but this is inevitable due to my recurring asthma condition, i’m just blessed that the only illness I have for now after the PTB last year is this Asthma. So I quit my job again…two weeks ago. It was a personal decision, I couldn’t contain the stress that I am getting from my employer so decided to quit just like that. So i’m officially a bum again. hahaha. It has its perks mind you. After two weeks of resting I am now feeling better again, and my mother noticed that I am looking less stressed, which is good.  Financially, I don’t know, i’m broke. again. Not really sad nor am I happy but then shit happens. Good thing dad and siblings are there to support. Though, they still don’t know my condition. Support group friends online are saying wait for the right time. Is there a perfect time for disclosing such status? “Hey family, I have HIV and I’ve been hiding this condition from all of you for more than 2 years  now. Okay let’s move on. No questions please.”  Hahaha. I would have done it from the start if it were that easy.

So what’s bothering me now? Should I go back working in the usual real world that I am used to or should I try something new? I know my 2015 is not wasted, at least for now. I still have seven months before the end of 2015. I just need that career change that will not caused challenges to my health and will sustain my needs. Hoping for the best!

What are your thoughts?

7 thoughts on “Career Change.?!#$

  1. Hello, my friend! 🙂 If the previous job is giving you so much stress, then it’s time for a career change. You might be needing some time to adjust, but it’s going to turn out nice for you. There is a perfect time for everything, just like disclosing your status. You will be the only one to tell when that perfect time is. And one more thing, don’t stress yourself too much. ^_^ *hugs*

  2. I have several poz friends and the general consensus among them is to be as honest and open about it as possible. They find it brings peace of mind. Good luck with everything 🙂

    • Hi, Thanks for the advice. I will keep that in mind. Culture and mentality about HIV/AIDS is different here in The Philippines. There is a stigma that is still on going so it will be hard for me to be honest about my status. But I appreciate it. 🙂

  3. haven’t disclosed my status to my family here in the philippines. is it the stigma? not really sure. i just don’t want the years ahead of me to be characterized by all the fussing. so far so good though. hope you find that perfect job.

Leave a Reply

